And the winners are…

The winners of the inaugural Merseyside Civic Design Awards were revealed at a presentation evening held at Liverpool Arts Bar on Tuesday 28th November.

The Awards focus on high quality projects that enhance our shared experience of the places that surround us. Inaugurated this year to mark the 85th anniversary of Merseyside Civic Society and launched on National Civic Day, any project completed between 1st August 2018 and 31st July 2023 within Liverpool City Region was eligible for nomination.

After nominations were submitted by the public on the MCS website during the summer, a panel of independent judges visited shortlisted projects in October before reaching the following decisions:

Joint Best New Build Project
The Lighthouse Church by shedkm

Joint Best New Build Project
LJMU Student Life & Sport Buildings by Sheppard Robson

Best Conservation Project
The Municipal Hotel by Falconer Chester Hall

Highly Commended Conservation Project
India Buildings by Falconer Chester Hall

Best Landscape Project
West Kirby Flood Alleviation Scheme by AECOM

Best Cultural Project
Future Yard by Architectural Emporium

Best Small Hospitality Project
40 Renshaw Street by SDA Architecture

Best Large Hospitality Project
INNSiDE Liverpool by Corstorphine & Wright

Best Community Project
The Old Library by OMI Architects

Wellbeing Award
The Spine by AHR Architects

Organised by MCS Vice Chair and Civic Voice Trustee, Andrew Jackson, the Awards were judged by:

Mathew Giles
Director, MGMA Architects & Co-Director, Liverpool Architecture Foundation

Martin Hamilton
Chair, Civic Voice & Director, Leeds Civic Trust

Professor Sally Stone
Programme Leader for MA Architecture and Adaptive Reuse, Manchester School of Architecture

Commenting on the winners, Andrew Jackson said:
“The inaugural Merseyside Civic Design Awards have been a huge success and demonstrate the wealth of top-quality architecture to be found across Liverpool City Region. I’d like to thank our judges, who braved the October weather to visit the entire shortlist in a single day, and without whom the Awards simply wouldn’t have happened. Congratulations to all the winning projects and I look forward to seeing some equally exciting nominees when the Awards return in 2025.”